Mobile menu icon
Mobile menu icon Search iconSearch
Search type

Doctoral Academy Professional Services Team

The FBMH Doctoral Academy is based in room 1.93 in Simon Building (directly above the café). We are open Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm.

Postgraduate researchers are welcome to come during these times with queries. We suggest that you make an appointment with the relevant member of the team beforehand where possible. We have a space for confidential or sensitive discussions.

View a full list of the Doctoral Academy team (PDF). Our general inboxes are listed below. We aim to answer all queries as quickly as possible.

See an overview of the Doctoral Academy and the support we provide for our PGRs (PDF).

Contact us

General enquiries
Email: FBMH.doctoralacademy@manchester.ac.uk

Progression and welfare queries (eProg, training, support and advice)
Email: FBMH.doctoralacademy.support@manchester.ac.uk

Funding queries (stipend, fees, expenses)
Email: FBMH.doctoralacademy.funding@manchester.ac.uk

Thesis submission and examination queries
Email: FBMH.doctoralacademy.exams@manchester.ac.uk

Recruitment and admissions queries
Email: FBMH.doctoralacademy.admissions@manchester.ac.uk

Doctoral Academy Management Team

Job titleNameEmail address
PGR Services Manager Jessica Bowler jessica.bowler@manchester.ac.uk
PGR Operations Officer James Power james.k.power@manchester.ac.uk
PGR Operations Officer (Funded/External Programmes) Alison Cox alison.cox@manchester.ac.uk
PGR Recruitment and Admissions Officer Martin Lockey martin.lockey@manchester.ac.uk

Doctoral Academy Academic Leadership Team

Job titleNameEmail address
Associate Dean for Postgraduate Research Professor David Bechtold

david.bechtold@manchester.ac.uk

PGR Director – School of Biological Sciences Professor Chris Grant

chris.grant@manchester.ac.uk

PGR Director – School of Medical Sciences Dr Nick Ashton

nick.ashton@manchester.ac.uk

PGR Director – School of Health Sciences Dr Jane Brooks jane.brooks@manchester.ac.uk
Doctoral Academy Lead for PGR Experience Dr Debbie Smith debbie.smith-2@manchester.ac.uk
Director for International PGR Dr Forbes Manson forbes.manson@manchester.ac.uk

Full details of our PGR Senior Tutors and Tutors can be found on the academic contacts page.